Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys!

So, I have been using the Jim Dunlop Jazz III XL picks for a couple of years... The size/gauge/thickness is great, the grip is good enough... They work for me. I'm really used to them and keep buying them again, and again.

But, I'm still struggling to find the differences between the different materials they are made of...

Can't really tell. Maybe I'm a bit "sensori-neural challenged", I don't know.... There should be a clearly noticeable difference between them... I usually just go by the colors. Reds are easier to find when dropped! :)

I find the black ones, "Stiffo", well... I find them softer than the Red ones. (!?) The Ultex ones feel even harder to me, and thicker (?).

I have a bunch of each laying around and I have been using them alternately to try to figure this out!

What are your thoughts on this? Red, Stiffo or Ultex? Why? What do you feel makes them different from each other one?

I'm ordering a lot of picks soon and I decided I'm not getting a bunch of all available materials, like I usually do. I'm going to go for one of them only and I would like to have my mind, and fingers, and ears (?) settled on this...

Please, share you thoughts and experiences.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
103 Posts
I go back and forth between the Ultex and the carbon fiber. I get get a better grip with the carbon fiber, but the Ultexes sound a little better to me.

·
Registered
325 Posts
Delrin is POM, Ultex is just a fancy word for PEEK.
PEEK is made up from longer polymere chains, thus far more durable.

·
HEAVY HACKJOB RIFFER
874 Posts