Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
with a Shotgun
925 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I'm getting a new PC and a friend of mine put this together.
Does it look alright, or should I change something...? (I'm a newb at this)

Here's what to choose from:
Komplett.no

And here's the chosen specs:

Cabinet
CM Storm Sniper Black Edition Vifter: 1x 200mm Front, 1x 200mm Topp, 1x 200mm Side, 1x 120mm Bak, Blå LEDs

Powersupply
Corsair HX 750W PSU ATX 12V V2.2, 80 Plus Silver, Modular, 4x 6+2-pin PCIe, 12x SATA, 140mm Vifte

Motherboard
MSI X58A-GD65, Socket-1366 ATX, X58, DDR3, 3xPCIe(2.0)x16, SATA 6Gb/s, USB 3.0, Firewire, Military Class

Processor
Intel® Core™ i7-960 Processor Socket-LGA1366, Quad Core, 3.2Ghz, 8MB, 130W, QPI: 4,8GT/sec, Boxed w/fan

Watercooling
CoolIT ECO A.L.C. CPU Kjøler Socket 775/1155/1156/1366, AM2/AM2+/AM3, 120mm Vifte, 300mm Rør

DDR3
Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333MHz 6GB CL9 Kit w/3x 2GB XMS3 modules, CL9-9-9-24, for Core i7

Graphic card
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 560Ti 1GB AMP! ® PCI-Express 2.0, GDDR5, 2xDVI, native-miniHDMI, 950MHz

Harddisc
Western Digital Caviar® Blue 1TB SATA 6Gb/s (SATA 3.0), 32MB, 7200RPM

Harddisc SSD
Corsair SSD Force Series™ F80A, 80GB SATA2, 2,5", 285MB/275MB/s read/write, incl 2,5" to 3,5" bracket

With these specs it ended up at 12.372 Norwegian kroner, which is approx. $2300.

That's without a display. If you have any recommendations on a 24" - 27" display, that would be great.

Also, what's the difference between 32 and 64bits Windows? All I know is that 64bit can take advantage of more ram, but my friend here told me you get a lot of stuff he doesn't know what is that runs in the background with the 64-version, and that it tend to run a bit slower.

He also says having more than 6gb ram i bullshit. Is this correct?
It's mainly a gaming computer, but I may use it for music/video-production too. Have to see how I like reaper compared to logic etc. first.