Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Super Moderator
4,876 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, aug 6th 7th and 8th i was asked to record a buddy of mines band. They are disbanding because their bass player is moving away and want to get a recording down. I'm still new to recording but every time i have a session my mixes and such turn out better than before. Here is the catch. It's going to be the drums, 2 guitars and a bass live off the floor.

I never record like this. I don't have an area ready to get separation for each instrument. We're going to be rent a space to use but i'm worried about the drums rattling and the overheads picking up the bass and guitars and crap. sucks. Anyone have some good ideas on how to make this sound as good as possible? I'm doing this for next to nothing because i really like the band and I want their music on cd to listen to.

·
Mr. Negative Pants, ,
14,796 Posts
Maybe have the guitars and bass play with headphones on, and run their instruments direct through a re-amping box? It won't give them their ideal tone while recording, but if you can re-amp the guitars later, you'll get a better result.

The other option is to put the amps in a separate room from the drums. That's the only other way i can think of to stop the guitars and bass from bleeding all over the drums. (and vice versa)

·
Super Moderator
4,876 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Maybe have the guitars and bass play with headphones on, and run their instruments direct through a re-amping box? It won't give them their ideal tone while recording, but if you can re-amp the guitars later, you'll get a better result.

The other option is to put the amps in a separate room from the drums. That's the only other way i can think of to stop the guitars and bass from bleeding all over the drums. (and vice versa)
we probably wont have a different room from the drums :/