Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
is on drug whatever
Joined
·
6,523 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Both of my guitar amps are 150 watt and I love running them flat out, obviously this is rarely practical... or appreciated. :lol: This is more for me playing at home direct into my DAW so built in cab simulations aren't really needed as I've got some pretty decent IRs and am going to grab some of my cabs next time I'm in the studio, I wouldn't mind if there was the ability to load 3rd party IRs onto said unit for live use but it's not a big concern.

My main problem is that most if not all of the units I come across only go up to 100 watts and while I'm aware that I could just not crank it, that sort of defeats the point for me. If I don't have the option to run shit wide open and saturate the shit out of the output valves why even bother. :lol:

So, what are my options?
 

·
is on drug whatever
Joined
·
6,523 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I feel like a numpty now, you mentioned this the other day and I thought you were on about the 'Live', which is 100w. I don't know how I missed this one. :lol:

I guess the only thing it doesn't do is attenuate which means it wouldn't be great for live, but otherwise it ticks all the boxes.
 

·
Obsessed by day glo Green
Joined
·
2,827 Posts
I feel like a numpty now, you mentioned this the other day and I thought you were on about the 'Live', which is 100w. I don't know how I missed this one. :lol:

I guess the only thing it doesn't do is attenuate which means it wouldn't be great for live, but otherwise it ticks all the boxes.
live i'd do an axe fx, take the output (should be able to grab the direct feed) and run it into a FR solid sate power amp like a matrix. Even with that you may well still be able to run a feed of cab sim to FoH from the unit, ands use matrix through a cab for on stage cmoinitoring
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
23,428 Posts
live i'd do an axe fx, take the output (should be able to grab the direct feed) and run it into a FR solid sate power amp like a matrix. Even with that you may well still be able to run a feed of cab sim to FoH from the unit, ands use matrix through a cab for on stage cmoinitoring
Basically this. I was thinking of doing this with my Torpedo Live... running the Line Out to a SS power amp, then to a full range cab, or more likely just a monitor or two.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,275 Posts
When I was feeling saucy, I ran my Triple Recto thru my Torpedo Live (100w) up to 1:00 - 2:00 without any issues.

If you're using modern high gain amps, it shouldn't be a problem. If you're using vintage-style amps that requires power amp dirt, then yeah, get a Torpedo Studio, Torpedo Reload, or that Boss Waza deal.
 

·
is on drug whatever
Joined
·
6,523 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
live i'd do an axe fx, take the output (should be able to grab the direct feed) and run it into a FR solid sate power amp like a matrix. Even with that you may well still be able to run a feed of cab sim to FoH from the unit, ands use matrix through a cab for on stage cmoinitoring
This seems a little OTT for what I'm looking for, I'd prefer an all in one solution.

When I was feeling saucy, I ran my Triple Recto thru my Torpedo Live (100w) up to 1:00 - 2:00 without any issues.

If you're using modern high gain amps, it shouldn't be a problem. If you're using vintage-style amps that requires power amp dirt, then yeah, get a Torpedo Studio, Torpedo Reload, or that Boss Waza deal.
Yeah, my sunn is my main and that's all about poweramp breakup. :lol: I've looked at the Waza and it looks pretty interesting even if it has a bunch of features I don't really need, on a similar note the UA OX looks, or rather sounds good but you're stuck with a lot of cabs I'd never use and I don't think you can add 3rd party IRs :noway:

The Torpedo Reload is looking interesting though, it has an attenuator built in which is cool. As far as I can tell it just doesn't have the built in cab sims?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,275 Posts
The Torpedo Reload uses the same loadbox as the Torpedo Studio, just without all the IR loader and extra features. It also has a built-in DI and reamping capabilities. So if you're gonna do everything in your DAW, i think the reload is perfect for you.
 

·
Obsessed by day glo Green
Joined
·
2,827 Posts
This seems a little OTT for what I'm looking for, I'd prefer an all in one solution.

Yeah, my sunn is my main and that's all about poweramp breakup. :lol: I've looked at the Waza and it looks pretty interesting even if it has a bunch of features I don't really need, on a similar note the UA OX looks, or rather sounds good but you're stuck with a lot of cabs I'd never use and I don't think you can add 3rd party IRs :noway:

The Torpedo Reload is looking interesting though, it has an attenuator built in which is cool. As far as I can tell it just doesn't have the built in cab sims?
Torpedo reload is cool, but asd you said, no sims in it. Now, if you want an attenuator, that's cool, also is a reamp box.

For recording though, youi'll ghet latency when running into it, then through a vst plugin to get the sound. And that is annoying.

However, here's one for you, the THD hotplates have a max rating of 185w, so you could just find one of those for live use, they shouldn't be that expensive to find second hand.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
7,708 Posts
When I was feeling saucy, I ran my Triple Recto thru my Torpedo Live (100w) up to 1:00 - 2:00 without any issues.
I couldn't get my Triple rec to work with the Torpedo Captor. It totally choked the tone of it, which it did not do for any of my other amps. The 150w cap on the new Boss expander was interesting for me, but when the price hit $1300 I said no to it.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
23,428 Posts
Maybe you can get two 100w attenuators, something electronically simple like the Weber's, and run two in parallel? That ought to cut the power. The voltage will be the same, but the current should halve. Please talk to an amp tech first before trying. This is a half-brained idea, and I'm a quart low on coffee and sleep :lol:
 

·
NSLALP
Joined
·
13,286 Posts
The Rockcrusher is good for 120W. That means 120W RMS all day long.

The Rockcrusher Recording has the same capability but also has an input power meter, meaning that you can crank all the way to 120W average (with up to 150W peaks) and know that you're not damaging the equipment. Plus you get all the recording outputs to give you an all-in-one solution.

Plus, the Rockcrusher is absolutley kick ass and sounds awesome. And is purple. :yesway:

 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
23,428 Posts
I think this calls for an Ola Testing Shit series on direct/load boxes!
 

·
Mod Britannia
Joined
·
7,233 Posts
Maybe you can get two 100w attenuators, something electronically simple like the Weber's, and run two in parallel? That ought to cut the power. The voltage will be the same, but the current should halve. Please talk to an amp tech first before trying. This is a half-brained idea, and I'm a quart low on coffee and sleep :lol:
Assuming the amp has two speaker outs, there's no problem in doing this. Just run one into the DAW. No different to running a pair of 100w cabs with it.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
23,428 Posts
Assuming the amp has two speaker outs, there's no problem in doing this. Just run one into the DAW. No different to running a pair of 100w cabs with it.
You complete me.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
7,708 Posts
When I was feeling saucy, I ran my Triple Recto thru my Torpedo Live (100w) up to 1:00 - 2:00 without any issues.
YMMV. I had a very different experience. Granted, the Captor is lower end than the Live, but my experience was that the captor neutered the tone of my triple and caused my triple to spontaneously turn off. Not a good sign! Had it checked and no permanent damage, but it sent me looking for lower wattage solutions for the recto sound b/c I truly love the sound through the Captor recorded.
 
1 - 20 of 20 Posts
Top