Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So long story short I got a killer deal on a new/mint Mesa 1x12 cab that will be coming in soon, so I’m looking for a lunchbox or mini head to pair with it to use at home. Need suggestions!

And yes, JBA5150. Definitely considering a 6505 MH, just not sure if it’s the best option (probably is with the audience here).

·
glass enthusiast
1,665 Posts
I have an Engl Gigmaster 15, which is great. The EVH 15w things seem to be good too

·
Super Moderator
7,708 Posts
PRS MT15 or Mesa Mark V25. I've owned both and a few other lunchbox amps as well, and they're IMO the best lunchbox amps out there. The new EVH LBX with the red channel I assume is killer too.

I'd personally go for the MT15 as it has 6L6s and can drive much more if you need it. The Mark V25 has arguably better tone and more options, but if you ever play out with it you'll get much more headroom from the PRS, forget the lower wattage rating. The PRS is half the price as well.

·
Read Only
10 Posts
I’d check out the Invective too. IIRC they’re about the same price as the 6505, but I could be wrong.

·
OldSchool Blacksmith
2,866 Posts
The Invective is $100 more. Get a JCA22h. You can get em cheap, mod options are nearly limitless and you can take the extra cash and buy another Solar to sell to Guitar Center.

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
The Invective is $100 more. Get a JCA22h. You can get em cheap, mod options are nearly limitless and you can take the extra cash and buy another Solar to sell to Guitar Center.
:denzel:

·
Forum MVP
4,767 Posts
So many good options, but if you dont have a EQ pedal already... factor in a MXR 10 band... they just make anything better.

·
Banned
21,673 Posts
So long story short I got a killer deal on a new/mint Mesa 1x12 cab that will be coming in soon, so I'm looking for a lunchbox or mini head to pair with it to use at home. Need suggestions!