Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I injured my left arm I reaaly need to downsize the gauges I'm using.
Whenever I can pick up guitar again I will try:

0085 set for E standard (previously 009)
009 set for Eb (previously 0095)

Maybe lower if it still hurts my tendons.

Anyway. To boost my morale I wanna hear some kickass bands with super light gauges!

First off, Judas Priest with both KK and Glenn sporting 008-038 strings :flex:

Yngwie also has light high strings, but high action.

Brian May (not metal tho), Billy Gibbons (same here) and Tony Iommi (very much metal) are also known for thin strings.

I wanna know some more!

·
Señor Member
12,297 Posts
FWIW, I've been playing 8-38 for the last several years. I don't miss heavier strings at all, and being able to bend 2 full steps+ is a lot of fun.

EVH, at least at one time, used 9s which isn't particularly unusual in and of itself, but a few in the middle were smaller than usual (9; 11; 15; 24; 32; 40)

·
Sir Groove-A-Lot
Charvel So Cal & San Dimas
6,916 Posts
Dimebag obviously. 9-46 even in C# standard on a 24.75" scale guitar.
Ty Tabor of King's X using 9's no matter what tuning. Even drop B IIRC.

Both of whom have masses of control, and unmistakeable tone. I just can't go that light these days, 10's at least for me, 11's on 24.75". I hate heavy strings too though (anybody using anything more than a 46, maybe 49 on the low E in standard is a ham-fisted shit-cunt and needs to work on their picking).

·
Super Moderator
8,927 Posts
Ritchie Blackmore uses 8-38, I believe.

Outside of metal, Frank Marino, Allan Holdsworth and Frank Zappa were all 8-38 users.

Judas might have even gone down to a .007 high E at one point.

·
Premium Member
7,286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
FWIW, I've been playing 8-38 for the last several years. I don't miss heavier strings at all, and being able to bend 2 full steps+ is a lot of fun.