Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Tr00 Kvlt
5,914 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wirelessly posted (Shadow: Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.2; en-us; Droid Build/FRG22D) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

I'm starting to develop a website for my new band and thought it would be cool to also do a mobile site, but I am curious as to how I can make the .com url direct mobile phones to the mobile site automatically? I plan to put a link to the full site at the bottom as well. I have never done a mobile site before, so that part is new to me.

·
Read Only
10 Posts

·
Tr00 Kvlt
5,914 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
How to Redirect Mobile Phones and Handhelds to Your Mobile Website|StepForth Web Marketing Inc.

A redirect to a mobile subdomain based on agent is the quick and easy way. You can do it on a single domain using CSS agent detection, but the downside is that people on more high-end devices will inevitably want one or the other. So if you say "iPhone = Mobile so redirect it", you'll end up with complaints that people can't use the "real" version on their phones.
Gotcha, do you think I could use that but Also have a link to the real site? Maybe a link to the site uncloaked with the .com domain? Or would it still just redirect all mobile browsers to the mobile page? I've seen a few pages that direct to a mobile page but they also have a link at the bottom of the website that takes you to the full site, but i'm guessing its a bit more difficult to do.

·
Read Only
10 Posts
For a band, I'd just do a blanket redirect based on agent, so that every mobile device gets the slim version. :yesway:

·
Tr00 Kvlt
5,914 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Wirelessly posted (Shadow: Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.2; en-us; Droid Build/FRG22D) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)