Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
is on drug whatever
6,523 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's been a good week for New Amp Days on this site hasn't it? I thought I'd add to it with an amp I've been after probably since I started playing guitar... I've never seen one outside of the US for sale but Mattayus managed to find one on Facebook, not only in the EU but it has already had the transformer modified for 240v, needless to say I jumped on it.

Sunn amps are rare enough in the UK but you just don't see these 70's ones... Ever... This one is a '74 which was bizarrely completed on the 22nd of January according to the sticker on the chassis, so next week is it's birthday so to speak. :lol:

I've only just got it wired up with a UK plug and it's probably a bit late to play so here's a couple of shitty pictures to tide you over until tomorrow:

Now I just need to figure out how to get the stale cigarette stank out of it. :ugh:

Attachments

·
\m/ \m/
5,983 Posts
What would you compare this to? I have never tried one.

·
is on drug whatever
6,523 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
What would you compare this to? I have never tried one.
So far I can only go off of recorded versions and when I've seen bands live with them, it's a bit late to play it anywhere past 0.5 so I don't know. But they're supposed to be a supercharged mashup of a Fender Bassman and a Marshall Plexi, they have a voice of their own which I've never heard anywhere else though. I'll attempt to get some recordings done of it at the weekend as looking for youtube clips of the amp is pointless unless you want poorly recorded Sunn O))) ripoffs. :lol:

·
Could be Hitler
7,666 Posts
YES!
:metal:

·
Mod Britannia
7,233 Posts
Fuck yes! Congrats dude, I know how long you've been after one of these. TBH I know what it was before I opened the thread :lol:

·
is on drug whatever
6,523 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·