Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Premium Member
23,428 Posts
I'm not very good with 5-ways, as I prefer 3-ways. I've been thinking about a strat with 3 P90's with coil taps (slightly different than coil splitting), but the concept is kinda the same. My thought was to have a standard 5-way strat wiring config, then three mini switches for each P90, to decide if I wanted it full on, or tapped.

·
Banned
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm not very good with 5-ways, as I prefer 3-ways. I've been thinking about a strat with 3 P90's with coil taps (slightly different than coil splitting), but the concept is kinda the same. My thought was to have a standard 5-way strat wiring config, then three mini switches for each P90, to decide if I wanted it full on, or tapped.
Check this out, I think I might get one of this instead of three mini-switches.
3PDT Switch True Bypass(for diy projects) - eBay (item 160448778122 end time Aug-23-10 12:25:40 PDT)
Could that work? I mean I know I would have to have them ALL either split or not but it would be cheaper and I don't really use single-coils for anything but cleans in which case it shouldn't take me too long to hit a switch. ;)

·
Premium Member
23,428 Posts
Check this out, I think I might get one of this instead of three mini-switches.
3PDT Switch True Bypass(for diy projects) - eBay (item 160448778122 end time Aug-23-10 12:25:40 PDT)
Could that work? I mean I know I would have to have them ALL either split or not but it would be cheaper and I don't really use single-coils for anything but cleans in which case it shouldn't take me too long to hit a switch. ;)
Yeah, you could definitely just do one switch, but I like having cool options. Like, you could run your neck in series and the middle in parallel, on position 4, or vice versa. I mean, until you know what they sound like, it's just fun to experiment with the tones.