Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, This question is pretty embarrassing to ask but here goes... I've been thinking about buying a 7 string guitar and honestly Im confused as to how to play it... I know, that sounds pretty dumb. As a 6 string player, mostly using drop c and b tuning, it seems like the low B using standard 7 string tuning would force me to change how I play my bar chords, power chords, etc...

Im a self taught guitarist so I literally dont know shit about music theory, or technical terms... I just play whatever sounds cool to me. Lately I've been stepping up my game, working on becoming a better guitarist, and I've made some drastic improvements on my technical ability to play... So now I wanna up the ante some, add another string into the mix.

So... After your all done laughing at me:) Can anyone offer some tips for transitioning from a 6 to a 7 string???

Thanks,

Rick

·
Registered
6,968 Posts
Drop the low B to A and play in dropped A. I don't do this because I despise drop tunings (most of the time), but lots of people play dropped A.
I dunno. One of the things i liked to do when having an extra string was play Drop D songs, but in standard tuning with the low B. Ie, basing it off the third fret. I did this with Rage Against The Machine's stuff, and a few other bands, too. Its way more interesting and provides a cool challenge.

·
Bro of Bros, Bro.
15,373 Posts
It'll just hurt you in the long run.
I don't know if that's necessarily true...

I think as long as you "know" you're drop tuning, you adjust to it.

With a 7 string, they don't really feel much different to me, just give me a few more options as far as arpeggios, some chords, etc. It's really only adding 5 lower notes.

I have quite a few guitars that are in drop tuning, including a few 7's, and as long as you know what you're dealing with (I typically go on mood that I'm playing in) you should be fine.