Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Argh
2,658 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry9700/5.0.0.351 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/245)

Hi guys, just on my way back from the apple store with a new Macbook Pro. I know this is a total noob question, but this is my first Mac. I was wandering if it is necessary to use antivirus software with a Mac, and if so, which do you recommend?
I know loads of people say its not necessary, but I thought I'd ask you guys as I trust your opinions.

·
Thread Killer
6,491 Posts
Im no help BUT Yes you should use one. Which one? Not sure ask Chris or Zepp or one of the other apple guys.. :lol:

·
Read Only
10 Posts
Yes.

I use Symantec's version, because I get it from work. Steve uses McAfee, because he works there. Both do the job.

·
Argh
2,658 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry9700/5.0.0.351 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/245)

Chris said:
Yes.

I use Symantec's version, because I get it from work. Steve uses McAfee, because he works there. Both do the job.
Cool, thanks guys. I think ill go with symantec because I've used it before. I can't wait to get this thing up and running. Tomorrow ill be ordering a focusrite interface, then the recording begins. I'm gonna try reaper first for the DAW as its free, but I may switch to logic down the line.

·
Banned
13,827 Posts
FWIW, my home computer has been a Mac for the last 10 years. Never had an antivirus and nothing ever happened. Never had the need for an antivirus, really. :shrug:

·
Banned
21,673 Posts
Wirelessly posted (iDevice of Awesomeness: Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.2.1; en-us; Droid Build/FRG83D) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

ESET is generally what I prefer, or if you want free, CLAMXAV is a good choice.