Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
\m/ Tits & Beer \m/
1,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

So... I'm scheduled to do an hour long performance on the first day of this years NJ Guitar Convention, (if any of you are on the east coast, come check it out!). I was also asked to do a 45 minute clinic from 6-645 after my set. I've never done a clinic before in my life... needless to say one in front of hundreds of guitarists! :eek: As I say this, my manhood pretty much cowers into some unknown region of my body LOL

I'm pretty sure a good amount of us have been to a clinic once or twice in our lifetimes. I've gotta come up with a topic of some sort... :confused: What are some things that you'd like/like not to see covered? Also, what are some things that have disappointed you at past clinics? I was thinking about touching on some "technique-shmechnique" stuff,

·
\m/ Tits & Beer \m/
1,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Go through practice routines, and don't be afraid to go into gory detail on your gear!
I'd totally go into practice routines if I had them. I've always just wrote stuff I couldn't play to get better- way too ADD to have a routine haha

Good call on the rig explanation. Only thing is that my rig is pretty simple, so that definitely wouldn't take too much time. Maybe I could dial in some other types of tones with the 6505+ and show it's versatility? :confused:

·
Señor Member
12,297 Posts
Every musician has something unique about their style and the most I've gotten from a clinic was hearing them touch on what they do to achieve their unique sound. I saw Billy Sheehan and he touched on his fingertapping and dive bombing stuff, which stood out. You play a sevenstring which, to the guitar community at large, is still not a fully understood thing. If you at least mention how you work the extra string into your playing and your runs, you might perk up a couple ears. :2c:

·
Premium Member
23,428 Posts