Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Nine EMG Guitars
1,058 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a few guitars with emgs. Lol. And a few with Duncan jb and distortions a few Dimarzio. I like the distortions in my guitars.
Jacksons and ESPs. But I'm new to the ibby thing. What pickup sound good. I've heard the Dimarzio evo are harsh. My Jp6 has his set and there kinda thin sounding. Just looking for ideas. Cuz I know there are a lot of Ibanez players on here.

·
Bro of Bros, Bro.
15,373 Posts
Just some ideas...

Bridge: Norton
Middle: FS-1
Neck: Humbucker from Hell

Bridge: Mo' Joe
Neck: PAF Pro or Joe

Bridge: Tone Zone
Neck: Air Norton

I prefer the FS-1 in the single in these guitars, because I just like having a little non-noise cancelling single there. It matches up well with output and pairs great with the split positions. You can pretty much sub any other single coil in there for the FS-1, but that's what I'd do. I've experienced disappointment trying some other hum-cancelling singles in that spot.

·
Nine EMG Guitars
1,058 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I had a prestige rg2550. With tone zone. True velvet and air Norton. It's was pretty nice. It's hard to explain. The Duncan's always sounded fuller then dimarzios. I was always wondering if u was getting the wrong Dimarzios. Cuz the putrucci set is kinda thin. I need it's own patch on my axe fx just to get it fuller. lol

·
Registered
3,806 Posts
Wirelessly posted (Wondernuts)

I have an 87 Rg550 also and I find the Tone Zone/Norton combo with a decent low gain single in the middle is a winner. Just never put a JB in there. Although the PAF pro is awesome in the neck too.

·
Bro of Bros, Bro.
15,373 Posts
Honestly I don't care for the Petrucci Dimarzio's in the early JP's, so I'm right there with you. They do have a weird wispy thinness to them.

·
Nine EMG Guitars
1,058 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks guys. So V6 are u saying you have tried a jb in a rg and its bad?

·
Registered
4,429 Posts