Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
943 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been playing guitar and buying gear since I was 12 years old (30 years). Maybe I am dumb as dog shit but what the fuck is the difference between a distortion pedal and all these new preamp pedals? Aren't they the same friggin thing?

·
Guitarded
Rig: Marshall DSL20
429 Posts
the difference is, distortion pedals in general are intended to go in front of your amp and modern preamp pedals are intended to replace your preamp. Though beware, the term "preamp pedal" can mean two things. Its either a pedal meant to go in front of your amp to make your guitar signal sound better before it even hits the front end, kind of like a boost, OD or klon type of thing. the second and more modern meaning is a pedal that is meant to replace your preamp all together. you can get one that sounds like a 5150 or a dual rectifier. you could run this right into the loop return of any amp and it will supposedly still sound like a real amp, tubey swell and all. a lot of these are modeled after already widely used amps and work well if you want a really footprint. you could set up your whole rig with the intention of just going into a loop return thus only having to bring your pedalboard and guitar to a gig.

·
Registered
3,275 Posts
Voicing and output levels, I'm assuming. Distortions are voiced to in front of an already-EQd preamp and have a weaker instrument-level output. Preamps are voiced to be EQ'd like an amplifier preamp and have a hotter line-level output.

It's why if you throw a distortion pedal into a power amp, it'll sound flat and low output (I know Ola did a video with the MT-2 into a power amp, but I've read the MT-2 is actually based on a Roland preamp) And if you throw a preamp in front of an amplifier, it'll sound harsh and either VERY loud or you'll get a lot of ugly clipping.

·
Super Moderator
7,708 Posts