Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
RG1527 Hoarder
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Project Overview

I've always wanted a 7-string version of a DSY Ibanez RG550... right down to the maple fretboard. It's a project I've been dragging ass on for several years now as I've slowly accumulated the parts I need.

Ben Eller's RFR 7-string project not only got me inspired, it obliterated my last 2 roadblocks: where to get a neck made, and what paint to use.

Now that those mysteries are solved, this project is once again under way... and dare I say could possibly be completed this year. I'll use this thread to document the build. The neck is being created by Eric Bauer (thanks again to Ben Eller's recommendation), and the assembly, painting, pickguard, etc. will be completed by Atomic Guitar Works here in Phoenix, AZ.

Design Philosophy

In general, I'm trying to stay reasonably true to the aesthetic of the early RG550's. This means sticking with some of the main features... such as pickguard, maple fretboard, strat style knobs, etc. If I deviate too much, then it sorta ceases to be an "RG550" and is instead just a heavily modded Ibanez.

HOWEVER, that said, I'm still making a few "enhancements" and exceptions here and there. Since it's an RG1527 body, it'll have an Edge Pro, 2 humbuckers, and Cosmo hardware. There will also be a few other deviations, which will be revealed with this story...

·
RG1527 Hoarder
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Acquiring a Body

Quite some time ago (about 4 years ago, I think), I got a steal of a deal on a 2007 RG1527 body. I snatched it off the 'bay as the platform for my RG550 project. I've always loved the older 1527's (which is why I own two, not including this one).

I don't mind the big hole where the volume knob used to be because, this being an "RG550"... it'll have a pickguard over that area.

Accumulating the Parts

Most of these were bought new from Ibanezrules, some stuff may have been bought off the 'bay.

·