Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
this is going to sound very newbish and silly but i'm still learning guitar :ugh: so bare with me..

how do you match up the guitar with drum or backing tracks?.. the drummer is the metronome of the band right? so what do drummers usually use in their drum set to signal to the rest of the band the beat especially if they are playing really fast? hope this makes sense of what i'm trying to ask.

·
Registered
1,130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
no talking through out the whole song.. how does the guitar play a long to the drums? like how does the guitar player know where to fall in line with the drummer?

·
NSLALP
13,286 Posts
lol but what does the count usually on the drums? how do I know i'm counting the right thing?
This is a very complicated issue, really, although most people just snag onto the feel and go with it. It depends on the time signature - are you familiar?

·
NICE BLACKMACHINE YO
7,276 Posts
lol but what does the count usually on the drums? how do I know i'm counting the right thing?
You just learn to follow the groove of the drums. You can play to a metronome if you like, but it is much harder. Almost all drum patterns have an obvious rhythm to them that makes them easy to play along to. You get used to it after a while - you learn where the accents are and where the beat is. For example:

This the drum track for a shitty song I wrote. The intro is in 7/4, ignore that. :lol:

SoundClick artist: The Katyn Massacre - page with MP3 music downloads

And this is the song with my shitty guitar playing:

SoundClick artist: The Katyn Massacre - page with MP3 music downloads

Do you see how the parts line up together?

·
should really be working.
366 Posts