Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Read Only
2,581 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok so this is my first time mixing an metal. I got bored and decided to try something, with headphones... I used amplitude 3 for guitar and bass(octave pedal) and toontrack for drums.
SoundClick artist: travis wahl - page with MP3 music downloads
its called quick metal mix
I can already tell by listening through the computer speakers that the snare needs to be a little bit louder. Naturally i want to be better at mixing metal(i follow the article as much as i could but without proper monitors its tough) So let me get some critism please. If you thought it was bad, i should show you it unmixed...i hate amplitude.

·
Read Only
2,581 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i was afraid of that. They're just right in my headphones, which is scary.

·
RG 7 player of doom
690 Posts
To be honest, that whole mix really bad ; it shows that it's a quick mix.
If the drums are coming out fine in your own headphones, I think it's time to get a new set of monitoring gear, because the drums were basically non existent on both my studio monitors AND my cheap computer speakers (which I have lying around to see how stuff translates to cheaper sound computer sound systems).

·
Premium Member
13,448 Posts
That mix is horrible. I can't hear any drums at all (or any bass for that matter) and the guitars are ridiculously loud.

·
Read Only
2,581 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Good good, i did it in about 30 minutes so ill take my time later tonight( to get used to headphones) and post the new one

·
Read Only
2,581 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
if i didnt live in a town house i would buy monitors, but i want to learn how to mix on my headphones effectively until then.

·
Pallin' around
9,532 Posts
Mix sounds pretty bad in my iPod earbuds, from what I hear, iPod headbuds are the best sounding things in the universe. :lol: