Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Mutes the Meat
10,236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I hate everything about recording. I hate fiddling with software. I hate sitting at a computer. I hate getting my recorded tone as good as the live tone with no fucking digital noise or fizz on top. I fucking hate recording.

But I want to be productive. So, from the ground up what are the simplest, easiest, and most natural feeling ways to record guitars and program drums. I am not a recording engineer, and I never intend to be one so I don't need fancy shit, just good listenable results primarily for my own listening.

If anybody else on here hates recording as much as I do, chime in. I'd like to hear what you guys are using.

·
Thread Killer
6,491 Posts
You going direct or mic? I would grab a lil presonus or something similar 2xlr input deal.

Run it into reaper into some good headphones or decent neutral pc speakers.

·
Thread Killer
6,491 Posts
You going direct or mic? I would grab a lil presonus or something similar 2xlr input deal.

·
18,790 Posts
As far as software goes, Garageband is relatively idiot-proof. The sounds aren't amazing, but it's reasonably plug-and-play, just pick a preset and set the levels. I'd recommend a small MIDI keyboard or something for drum programming, though. Makes it way easier to tap them in instead of trying to click it into the grid.

·
Knives!
427 Posts
It sounds like you shouldn't even be recording at all. If you aren't willing to persevere with anything to get results then there's no point. You should focus writing your shit and get somebody who is trained or experienced to do it for you. As for guitars go, you could record direct in guitars and get somebody to re-amp them for you properly through their selected set-up. There isn't a quick fix to getting good recordings. There isn't a 'template' but there are good tools which require minimum competency that will help you on your way. Apologies if that offends you.

·