Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I have just got a Schecter Omen 8 and am wanting to replace the strings when I receive it. Now as you guys probably know already is that the guitar is 26.5" so this is a consideration when picking strings. Now I am going to be playing After the Burial, Monuments and some other heavy stuff so would you recommend 12-60, 11-56, 10-52 or something else??
I am pretty new to all this so any help or advice would be greatly appreciated! ;)

Tom

· Premium Member
1,079 Posts
I play one of the old hellraisers that has the same scale length, and I string it with the d'addario 10-59 set + an 80 for the lowest string. I'd probably start with that and play with it from there. 12's will be really heavy.

· Premium Member
1,079 Posts
Wouldn't recommend the set. The tension isn't matched very well across the strings on those sets, so they feel kind of odd to play. If you bought the guitar new, it will probably come from the factory strung with that exact set (it may be an Ernie Ball set, but I think the gauges are the same), so at least you'll get a feel for them.

Yep, the 10-59 is a 7 string set, and you'll have to buy the 80 separate. The d'addario 80's have gotten way more expensive lately, though. I think I paid around 4 bucks for one last time I changed strings. :lol: Might be worth looking into a slightly lighter gauge for your lowest string. It'll sound a bit snappier and be a bit cheaper, but it'll feel much more loose than the other strings. Worth playing around with.

Edit: Oops, looks like RGhoarder got to it before I did. That set looks pretty good.

Umm..yeah, if I get the Ernie Ball set you linked and the D'Adarrio one I could make a set for 10-80, Does that sound right?

Tom
Probably not worth mixing two sets. I think they're each around $10.

· Banned
1,562 Posts