Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Slow Money
14,612 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
lol.

So, im new to this whole "not clocking it at time A and out at time B" thing, but it makes sense. In my new job, Im doing basic computer shit (Network setup, computer maintenance, security setup, etc) for an apartment property management company. Anyways, the bossman wants to get rid of the wireless and connect all the computers over copper. There are 5 offices, all of roughly the same size. In each office there are 3-5 computers, and the offices are maybe 800 square feet tops, mostly smaller than that. Im not doing any plenum or anything, or even running conduit at the moment. Im just running along the corner of the ceiling and down the corners of the walls, and hooking it all into the router/switch, using hammer in wire clips. Since im contracting this, I need work out a rough quote. Im charging an hourly rate, but i need to be able to say "barring any anomalies, this should take X long". How long do you think? No software setup or anything, just running ethernet lines and hooking into a router. I was thinking probably an hour or so, but quoting 2 just to be safe? The places are the size of I mean, the most intense thing i should have to be doing is drilling through drywall and a stud to move from room to room. Does this seem reasonable to you guys? Im not grossly underestimating the wily challenge of ethernet am i?

Thanks guys.

·
Registered
4,184 Posts
estimating goes time goes like this (how long you think) x 2 + 0-50% depending on how much ladder moving you will have to do. You will get in there and it will be a cluster fuck even if it doesnt look like it on the surface.

·
Slow Money
14,612 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The nice thing, is im not going into the ceiling. Im literally just running in-room :lol:
So then, if i realisitcally expect an hour.25, that means 2.5+ maybe an extra 45 ish, so call it 3?

·
Registered
4,184 Posts