Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,930 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Introduction:

I've been playing a little over 6 years now, September of 2004 was when I started playing guitar. Nothing super interesting happened for a majority of the time. Thrash started it for me; Metallica, Pantera, etc. and then I moved to Death Metal, and I'm into Black Metal now, as well as Progressive Rock, Fusion, Folk/some New Age music, and classical. As everyone knows, Black Metal is about 95% devoid of skillful guitar playing, and very few bands write interesting music. It's my personal favorite metal genre, but I want to expand as far as soloing goes.

Now for the interesting bit...

My favorite guitar players are David Gilmour, John Mclaughlin, Ihsahn, the guys from Negura Bunget and now Dordeduh, Roger Trigaux(Univers Zero and then Present), Frank Zappa, Alex Lifeson, John Gossard, Michael Hedges, John Doan, etc.

What I want to know is how to approach soloing, some songs to start with learning, technique, etc.

I've never:
taken lessons
used a backing track
learned scales for the guitar
taken ear training seriously, so I have no idea how to "listen"
played live

My frustration has been born out of not understanding my instrument, so bad that I don;t even want to play it most days and the fact that I cannot jam with friends, ie. I have no idea what to do when it's my turn to solo/riff etc.

Anything is helpful!

Thanks,
Trevor

·
Pallin' around
9,532 Posts
Introduction:

I've never:
taken lessons
used a backing track
learned scales for the guitar
taken ear training seriously, so I have no idea how to "listen"
To be honest, do all of this. Learning theory is an important task that allows you to create interesting lines over chord changes. You need to know scales otherwise you will be playing "Slayer solos".