Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Tr00 Kvlt
5,914 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone have some tips on cool scales in Open C? I've wrote a badass song in the tuning, but i've never wrote in open C before so I don't really know where to begin with soloing. I've noodled around with the track and haven't really came up with anything that I really like.

·
I am Groot
32,450 Posts
Step one: move hand from 12th fret to 8th fret
Step two: solo

·
Tr00 Kvlt
5,914 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Step one: move hand from 12th fret to 8th fret
Step two: solo
I tried doing like I normally do, but with this tuning it just doesn't work. I thought i'd come up with some cool solos with it because its so different, but I guess I need to get a better grasp of the tuning since i've never used it before. (this is not Drop C, but Open C which is CGCGCE).

·
I am Groot
32,450 Posts
Oh, you mean you're gonna SOLO in the tuning itself? Good luck! :lol:

Do you ever intend on playing it live? If not, just solo on a standard tuned guitar. Otherwise, look into a doubleneck. If neither of those is the right answer, go build some slide chops. After all, open C is one step down from open D, a very common slide tuning. It's easy to find open D slide scale forms.

·
Tr00 Kvlt
5,914 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Oh, you mean you're gonna SOLO in the tuning itself? Good luck! :lol:

Do you ever intend on playing it live? If not, just solo on a standard tuned guitar. Otherwise, look into a doubleneck. If neither of those is the right answer, go build some slide chops. After all, open C is one step down from open D, a very common slide tuning. It's easy to find open D slide scale forms.