Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,762 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Well I didn't want to full on pursue the ibanez 1527 till some sales of other items came through.

Now I have the money but the two 1527 just sold :(

Looking in my area I see the two mentioned Jacksons.

I might consider them if they are significantly cheaper than the 1527 which probably is selling for 600 to 700 Canadian..... Take off about 20% for rough usd estimate

The cow I am a bit hesitant as it only has one pick up do you guys think that is a big deal?

I see a few slats which go for 750 to 850 new so is it reasonable to try for under 400 Canadian? At that price I might consider one.... No trem is not a big deal but wouldn't mind a tremolo.

Ok with trying out active pups as I have no experience with them

Or should I just hold off?

·
Retarded P.A Overlord.
14,248 Posts
They're all really solid guitars. Do you ever use a neck pickup on your other guitars? I'd say a good 7620 is on par with a 1527. You just gotta figure out whether you want a slightly thicker neck and mahogany (Jackson), or a really thin neck and basswood (Ibanez)

·
Sir Groove-A-Lot
Charvel So Cal & San Dimas
6,916 Posts
I've owned both the RG7620 and the COW7. The RG is just a beautifully functioning workhorse. Great trem, great neck, balanced tone (not aggressive, smooth mids) and cheap to find.

The COW has the most brutal tone of any guitar I've played. It's got crazy amounts of grunt and punch, just leaps out at you, even acoustically. But it's very very limited in its functionality and playability. Ridiculous block heel (and I'm someone who's come to quite like big block heels a la fender/charvel, but this is on another level of huge) and a thicker, rounder overall feel. If you were just pummelling away in drop A in a deathcore band i couldnt think of a better instrument, but for any sort of finesse and musicality I'd never pick it over the RG.

·
Les Paul Nut
8,077 Posts