Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Hates Richie Kotzen
14,719 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had a specific thread in mind, but it's bass-centric, and I think I saw a tumbleweed blow by in the bass section of this site.

So share times you unlearned a technique you had either been doing wrong or whatever. Interesting topic.

First time I've tried doing it for this, total bitch, when I started playing music all I ever wanted to be was Steve Harris, so fingerstyle with two fingers. Unfortunately, the standard for faster metal has been three since the mid 90s, since there are certain limitations to two when you get past a certain bpm or are playing more intricate lines in fast songs.

I've done faux 3 for years. I can throw in the ring finger if I consciously think about it, especially if it's on a single string, but the Steve Harris technique is so absolutely ingrained in me that unless I am very conscious of it, I just revert.

If it's stuff that's on the higher strings, or skipping strings you can't really afford a sloppy technique, because fingerstyle bass is as much about muting as it is about sounding the notes.

Anyways, there are like, two other fingerstyle bass dudes here who do three finger extreme metal, although the technique is the same as classical, you guys do 123212321 or 123123123 (numbers corresponding to order of fingers), I doubt it matters, but I do the first, although I think the second might be easier to consciously incorporate.

Anyways, anyone have their own experiences on the subject?

·
Arrr, Matey!
1,798 Posts
I will be interested to hear their input as well, because while I'm relatively quick with the 2 finger Steve Harris method, there are times where I have to either 1) play it sloppily or 2) use a pick because I can't pluck fast enough with just the two.

·
Read Only
3 Posts
I can't talk to bass....