Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so i started playing guitar feb. this year and i can play bits and pieces from various songs. I have the motivation to learn theory and im trying to learn open chords atm. However I really hate my current guitar (cheap squier) the action is too high and it has absolutely no sustain. I'm looking to buy something that will last me for a while. I did a bit of research and the RG550 seems to be very popular.

There is a brand new RG550 made in japan for $620 (taxes included) - local guitar shop

or

Used Custom Ibanez JEM assembled and setup by a luthier with Basswood Body, Ibanez Prestige neck, Dimarzio Evolution pickups, Ibanez Edge tremolo for $800 cash - on craigslist

or

Ibanez RG1550MZ - less than a year old, hard case, wammy bar, floyd rose floating bridge. asking $800 - haven't negotiated price yet - on craigslist

which one should I get?

·
Registered
508 Posts
First off, grats for picking up the guitar. :metal:

I feel ya on the Squier. My first guitar was a Squire strat from the Fender Strat Pack.

Have you played the RG550 in the local shop? Have you played other brands to get a feel for them? The reason I'm asking is because how a guitar feels in your hands is one of the most important aspects of playing. That way we can make reccomendations based on what you like. Also, what styles of music are you pushing towards?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
:metal: I fucking love the guitar!

I haven't played the RG550. I was at my cousin's house over the summer and I played his Jackson guitar for a few minutes and I loved how much easier it was to play it because the neck was a bit smaller than my squier and the action was a lot lower.

I like classic rock and heavy metal(VAN HALEN, sabbath,metallica,gunsnroses,scorpions). I also like music by Joe Stump (neo classical metal i think).