Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
I miss you Avalanche
3,519 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, so I finally got an Xbox 360 w/ the GF for Xmas.

Now, this whole 'Xbox Live' and 'Points' stuff. I got a free 1 month Gold subscription with the unit. But I need to be schooled on this kinda stuff.

Is there any way to get subscriptions and points cheaper than on the Xbox Live Marketplace? Like, deals you can get elsewhere?

Also, where do I go to register the warranty on my 360? I don't wanna not register the warranty and get a RROD and be screwed :(

·
Retarded P.A Overlord.
14,248 Posts
You can buy prepaid cards in store, but they're most of the time, the same price. They were running a promo a few weeks back where I got 1 Year gold for £26 instead of £40, through Live.

·
I miss you Avalanche
3,519 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I found this on Amazon

Amazon.com: Xbox LIVE 12 Month Gold Membership: Xbox 360: Video Games

Which is a good deal, for sure. But Jenny and I both wanna be able to play online under our own accounts. Now the Family account (4 users) runs $99, but if I went with 2 separate accounts, it'd only be $80 if we did both of them from Amazon... can 1 Xbox have more than 1 live account associated with it? Or do we HAVE to get the Family membership?

·
I miss you Avalanche
3,519 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
But wouldn't we have to keep logging each other in and out to use our accounts? I don't know how an Xbox Live account works in conjunction with a Windows Live ID account?

·
Squirrel...
3,157 Posts
Your xbox account is linked to your Windows Live account, yes, but you don't have to log in with a password each time you want to use your xbox live account.

You can set it so that you have to put in your password upon logging in with your xbox live account on your xbox, but it isn't mandatory.